top of page
Writer's pictureDan Gochuico

The Little Mermaid (Chapter 14)

Updated: May 14, 2020

Sighing with grief, the Little Mermaid thought, “Ah, he knows not that it was I who loyally saved his life. While I am by his side, I will watch over him, love him, and forfeit my life for his sake.”

In due time it was reported that the prince must wed and that a noble, virtuous daughter of a neighboring king would be his bride. An elegant ship was being fitted out for the auspicious journey.

“Since my parents desire it, I must travel to meet this beautiful princess,” he told his little foundling, “but they will not obligate me to lead her home as my bride.”

The next morning, they sailed into the placid harbor, where church bells reverberated, and trumpets sounded. Every day was a festival. Balls and entertainments succeeded one another.

When the princess arrived, the Little Mermaid was obliged to acknowledge that she had never witnessed more sublime beauty, for the laughing blue eyes of the princess’s shown with both truth and purity.

“It was you who saved my life when I laid all but dead on the beach.” He folded his blushing bride in his arms.

“O, I am too blissful,” he later confided to the Little Mermaid. “My most ardent hopes are fulfilled. You will rejoice at my delight for your unobtrusive devotion to me has been absolute and sincere.” Kissing his hand, the Little Mermaid’s heart felt like it already broke. His nuptials will bring death to her. Before long, she will transform into the foam of the sea.

Too soon, the heralds proclaimed the betrothal. The church bells rang joyously while the bride and the bridegroom received the holy sacrament from the bishop.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Life of the Whydah

The Whydah was a ship that sunk in February 1717 in eastern Massachusetts and found by a marine archeologist named Barry Clifford. It...

Comments


bottom of page