top of page
Writer's pictureDan Gochuico

Family Breakthrough eXperience (FBX) Journal

Thursday, May 23rd

Today I am going to Mt. Makiling Recreation Center (MMRC). I left home at 10:00 and arrived there at noon, just in time for lunch. I brought my scooter, so it’s easier to travel around the vast MMRC. Family Breakthrough eXperience (FBX) is happening tomorrow for three days and two nights, but we arrived a day early to prepare for the event. Joining us for the advance party are the Manansala Family, Espique Family, Garcia Family, and the Relucio Family. The Manansala Family arrived around 15:00 already. After lunch, Kuya Sean and I ran to Mango Café to play Carpet Ball. We played there until 16:00 and then we went swimming until 18:00.

After dinner, all of us helped each other to fill one hundred ninety welcome bags for the participants. Each welcome pack had one notepad, one FBX workbook, one pen, and one juice box. But because all of us worked together, we finished in less than an hour!

After everything was ready, my friends and I played American Football (with a dodge ball and tapping instead of bumping each other). At 21:30, I scootered to my room, and after doing my hygiene (take a bath, brush teeth), I called it a night.

Friday, May 24th

After eating my bread and strawberry jam breakfast (although it is a buffet, I don’t eat much breakfast), I helped the other volunteers with the registration. The program started at 9:30, and Pastor Manny gave an intro to all the participants why they thought of doing FBX. After that, we had a family game. All participants were to stand up and form a big circle and two other small circles inside the big ring to look like an 8. Three families stood in-between the circles with two massive balls (exercise balls). They are supposed to run away from the giant balls. All family members blindfolded except for one (to lead the family away from the balls). The people forming the circles were assigned to roll the balls toward the families (It’s like Indiana Jones running away from the big boulders in the movie). Three families at a time to run away from the balls. We played that game for one-and-a-half hours. Then we played other games for the next 30 mins.

I spent all my free time after lunch in Mango Café with my friends because we were having a Carpet Ball tournament. We had this tournament before, and I became the Grand Master. Here is the ranking that my friends and I made.

  1. Beginner

  2. Intermediate

  3. Pro

  4. Master

  5. Grand Master

Note: there can be a lot of Beginners, Intermediates, Pros, and Masters, but there is only one Grand Master.

After free time, all participants gathered in Zion Hall for praise and worship then split into four groups. Five y/o and below (Zion Hall B), 6-12 y/o (Bethel Rooftop B), 13 y/o and up (Bethel Rooftop A), and parents (Zion Hall A). I volunteered in the 6-12 group, so I will be talking about what happened there.

At Session 1, we had an Amazing Race. There were eight stations, and Teacher Michelle split all of us into ten teams. The eight stations were:

  1. Ring Toss

  2. Shooting Targets

  3. Bowling

  4. Soccer Shooting

  5. Crawl Adventure

  6. Fly the Paper Airplane into The Hula Hoop

  7. Beanbag Toss

  8. Roll the Big Ball

We played those for two hours, then had two hours of free time.

From 16:00-17:00, I played Carpet Ball and Chess in Mango Café, then from 17:00-17:30 I was down by the pool to watch my friends swim. Because my friends Yeshua and Liam ran to me and sprayed water on me using water guns, the epic battle began. In return, I shoved both of them into the pool. We clashed over and over again for almost half an hour. Finally, I scootered back to Mango Café. I was wet but not dripping. I was furious with them that I decided to swim the next day and get revenge. I stayed there playing until dinnertime. While I was having dinner, my friend Roni arrived. I don’t know why she was late. She was supposed to arrive at MMRC at 9:00.

After dinner, we had Session 2, which was just a game session. We had Untalent Night at 20:30. Many people performed, including me. I danced Jump by Amber Sky Records with my friends Roni and Carlene. It was an impromptu performance. Roni and I were thinking of something to perform, and she suggested that we dance. I had the idea of the song Jump, and she had the idea of letting Carlene dance with us. If you want to see it, click on the link below. After we danced, we watched a few more families perform then left to sleep at 22:00.


Saturday, May 25th

I overslept!!! I woke up at 6:49!!! I was supposed to wake up at 6:00! I took a bath because I did not take a bath last night. The time I arrived at breakfast was 7:10. I just ate two dinner rolls with jam (again) (and also because I was in a hurry). Fortunately, I arrived in Mango Café at 7:30.

At 8:00, Teacher Michelle called all the participants to the side of the Zion Halls for a group picture. Mommy even told me to ride around MMRC on my scooter to announce that there was a group picture.

After taking many pictures, Teacher Michelle announced that the 6-12 and the 0-5 join rooms in Zion Hall B. So, Session 3 was there now.

My friend Reira joined me in Zion Hall B. I met her yesterday. She was talking to Teacher Michelle about joining the teens instead of the 6-12. She said that Reira should join the kids in the first session than the rest of the sessions she can join the teens. We stayed in Zion Hall until lunchtime.

After lunch, I played Carpet Ball with Reira and she almost won! She won the first battle (you have to beat the person twice in a row before you rank up), then it was a tie, a tie again, then I won. Woohoo!!!

After Session 4, there was a Fruit of The Spirit family game. Two families were going to battle each other to get more tickets. In each station, there is one ticket. There are eight stations. Because I had no family to play with (they were volunteering as marshals), I joined Roni and her family. We won!!! We were able to get four stations done, and the other family got two.

By the time we finished, it was already 17:00! I rushed to our room and changed clothes then dashed to the swimming pool. Remember. I still have to get revenge. When I got to the pool, I cannonballed in front of Yeshua’s and Liam’s faces, splashing them with tons of water. HOORAY!!! REVENGE COMPLETE!!! Then we had a water balloon fight. I hit them with a lot of balloons (headshot). REVENGE OVER COMPLETE!!! I stayed there until 18:30 then took a bath. I gobbled up my dinner then dashed up to Zion Hall B for Session 5 & 6. When I went back to the room, it was already 10:00. I promised myself to wake up at 6:00 tomorrow.

Sunday, May 26th

This time I did wake up 6:00 then on my way to my scooter when I heard a door open. It was from Liam! We traveled to Mango Café together and found Kuya Ethan reading the bible there. Some of my friends came to Mango Café also, and we had devotion together. There were eight of us who arrived one by one.

After breakfast, we went up to Zion Hall B again for Session 7-8. During Session 7, all the kids played the “Indiana Jones” game back. Then Session 8 was used for practicing for the performance. Later, all the kids performed up on stage to their parents (and also to the teens). There is also a link for that below (I am also there). 😊 After dancing, I wrote notes to my friends with Roni and Reira.


I spent most of the afternoon with Roni and Reira. We played Carpet Ball, Chess, and Horseback Riding. At 15:30 though, Roni went swimming so only Reira and I were left. We just watched them swim until all of us left at 16:00.

The End

All Volunteers Photo

All Teens Photo


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MOH II - Lesson 6 - Josephus

Josephus was born eight years after Jesus's crucifixion in a royal, Jewish family. He was contemporary with Nero. Josephus wrote this...

The Life of the Whydah

The Whydah was a ship that sunk in February 1717 in eastern Massachusetts and found by a marine archeologist named Barry Clifford. It...

Comments


bottom of page