top of page
Writer's pictureDan Gochuico

Frog Prince, or Just Deserts (Chapter 11)

“Frustrated, King Arthur decided to climb to the top of the cliff, where he could drink from the pool of water collected above, and with one hand reaching over the other, he made the laborious climb. When he reached the top of the cliff, he stood aghast. There, in the pool of water lay an enormous poisonous snake, quite dead. The poison had contaminated the water. Hrothgar and Robert had been trying to save his life all along, but he had been too cavalier to listen to them. Their loyalty affected him deeply.

When the king returned to the castle, he sought his nephew without delay. Finding Robert in his room with his servant, Arthur humbled himself contritely.

‘Can you forgive me nephew?’ he began, ‘you were right all along and wise to act on your instincts. While you astutely trusted your beloved Hrothgar, I depended on no one except myself. For your loyalty, you deserve a commensurate reward. I shall elevate you to the coveted position of arm bearer of the king, and Hrothgar shall dine on steak every day.’

“Modestly, Robert signed a reply to his servant who translated his words: ‘Your safety is all that matters. I am pleased to be of service to my liege lord and I shall do everything I can to be worthy of this position entrusted to me.’”

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MOH II - Lesson 6 - Josephus

Josephus was born eight years after Jesus's crucifixion in a royal, Jewish family. He was contemporary with Nero. Josephus wrote this...

The Life of the Whydah

The Whydah was a ship that sunk in February 1717 in eastern Massachusetts and found by a marine archeologist named Barry Clifford. It...

Comments


bottom of page