top of page
Writer's pictureDan Gochuico

IEW – Aslan’s Country – Lesson 15 – Dan’s Journal

Note: Pretend this was written during the air raids in London.

Entry #1 – The day I am told that I have to leave, and I begin packing right away

“I am 12 years old. I got this journal from one of my aunts. In the evacuation, I brought soap, food, clothes, and a gas mask that my mommy gave. I hope I will be safe so that I can come back to my family.”

Entry #2 – A day during my traveling

“Luckily, I don’t hear or see the bombings, but I am gloomy when I say goodbye to mommy. I am riding the train. Because where I’m going is just two stations away, my ride is going to be short. I think it will take about 2-3 days. I am going to live with my cousins. When I arrive at the station, my cousin’s driver is going to pick me up.”

Entry #3 – The day I arrive at my destination

“When I arrived at the house, I was surprised because it was bigger than I expected. But it was smaller than the professor’s house where Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy lived. One of my cousins is 12, and the other one is 15. My cousins were very kind to me. I have met them numerous times already, so I feel safe from the war here. Since they don’t have a radio, I couldn’t listen to the news about the bombings.”

Entry #4 – A day from midway during my time away.

“When I don’t have school, I am playing with Lego. I go to school with my cousins. I am also tutored privately. Sometimes I see planes going by, but they are only simple ones.”

Entry #5 – The beautiful day that I am told that I get to go home

“It has been 2 ½ years already. Finally, my cousin’s mommy told me that my mommy told her that I could go home. I will miss my cousins. I will leave the next morning. I will go back using the same train that I used to get here.”

The End

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MOH II - Lesson 6 - Josephus

Josephus was born eight years after Jesus's crucifixion in a royal, Jewish family. He was contemporary with Nero. Josephus wrote this...

The Life of the Whydah

The Whydah was a ship that sunk in February 1717 in eastern Massachusetts and found by a marine archeologist named Barry Clifford. It...

Comments


bottom of page