top of page
Writer's pictureDan Gochuico

Gunshots At Night

Updated: May 14, 2020

Chapter 1 – December 5-7 PM

I went to the Sanctuarium because my friend died. When I got there, it was full, and I couldn’t see inside. I got an idea. I would go up the stairs to the second floor to get a better view. But when I got to the second floor, I realized that everyone was going out already to parade around the streets. I ran back down and tried to squeeze out. While I was trying to get out, I bumped into my friend Atram. We ran out of the crowd and stayed behind to watch the procession leave. At that instant, I realized that I dropped my phone while trying to squeeze out.

“I have to go back in,” I said to Atram.

“I’ll go with you,” Atram replied.

We headed for the main entrance and found that it was locked. I saw the door to the fire exit, and I decided that we can go in through there. When we went in, we saw a man dressed in black.

He said, “Hello. What’s your name?”

“DanDan.”

“Are you trying to get inside? Follow me.”

We followed him through the other door leading to the inside of the Sanctuary. Inside, I saw two other men with guns. I looked around the building and saw men on the 6th floor, watching us. The two men took hold of our arms, and we tried to wriggle free. We were able to get free and fight the two men, but when we took them down, we got shot by tranquilizer darts. We fell to the ground.

Chapter 2 – 7:30 PM

I woke up ten minutes later in a room. I was sitting down on a chair, and my hands tied at my back. The same with Atram. There were guards around the room and a man in front of us. The man turned and revealed his face.

“Sean!” I cried.

The man looked surprised. “DanDan? What are you doing here?”

“Your men took me.”

“Why did you catch him?” Sean barked to the guards.

“You said to capture a person named Dan.” One of the guards replied.

“I said capture Dan, not DanDan. Different people!”

“Oh.”

Then Sean said to me, “I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to capture you and your friend…”

“Atram,” I said.

“Your friend Atram.”

“Untie them and set them free!” Sean ordered the guards.

“Bye, Sean,” I said.

But before I reached the door, I stopped.

“Did you put any men on the 6th floor?” I said to Sean.

“No. Why?”

“I saw a lot of men there.”

Sean motioned to the guards to go with him. They left the room. I asked Atram if we should help them. She nodded. We left the room and ran after the guards.

Chapter 3 – 8 PM

We heard gunfire. We stopped and hid behind a wall. I peeked out. I saw the other guards hiding too in a nearby wall. Atram and I ran to the other guards.

“Can I have a weapon?” I said to a guard.

“Sure. What kind? Sniper, shotgun, or pistol?”

“Can I have all three?”

I took the sniper and put the pistol beside me. I gave the shotgun to Atram. I peeked out again and saw other soldiers shooting at us from the 6th floor. We shot, they shot, some fell. We shot, they shot, some more fell. After around an hour of fighting, a few soldiers were left on the 6th floor — around 5 of them. I switched guns and got a pistol. I stood up and shot the best I can. Atram did the same, and we shot all the people left.

Sean thanked us, and we left. We went down to the ground floor and found my phone on the floor. It was broken already from the fighting. A bullet must have hit it. Then we heard footsteps behind us.

Chapter 4 – 9:30 PM

We turned around and saw Sean and the other guards with him.

“Thank you for helping us,” he said. “We couldn’t have won without you. Is there anything I could do for you in return?”

I looked at Atram.

“There might be,” I said.

I held out my broken phone.

“Ah. That’s easy.” Sean said. He opened his bag and brought out two iPhone 11s! He gave one to me and one to Atram.

“Thank you!” Atram and I said. “Bye!” We left the Sanctuarium and walked home cheerfully.

The End

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Restitution

Restitution =  an act of making up for something you did wrong, or making good of or giving an equivalent for some injury (Words in...

Comments


bottom of page